top of page


by Gisèle Vienne

Music by Scott Walker + Sunn O)))



Digital HD – Color – Sound

A short movie written and directed by artist Gisele Vienne and inspired by Scott Walker + SUNN O)))’s song of the same name, Brando takes place in a remote 1968 chalet in the French Alps and gathers dancer Anja Röttgerkamp, teenager Léon Rubbens, and French icon Catherine Robbe-Grillet.


Released in October 2014, with 4AD and NPR





A film by Gisèle Vienne

Music: Brando, from the album Soused by Scott Walker + SUNN O)))

With Anja Röttgerkamp, Léon Rubbens and Catherine Robbe-Grillet

Production: Same Art, 4AD, D.A.C.M

With the participation of LUX-Scène nationale de Valence

Produced by Amélie Couillaud & Dimitri Chamblas

Written and directed by Gisèle Vienne

Director of photography: Sylvestre Dedise

Editor: Caroline Detournay

Choreography: Gisèle Vienne


Line producer: Edouard Bonnet

Special advisers: Patric Chiha & Lucile Hadzihalilovic

Make-up & hair stylism: Mélanie Gerbeaux, assisted by Elise Feuillade

Costume design: Gisèle Vienne & Sonia Philouze, assisted by Emma Bursztejn

Gaffer: Kevin Ramalho

First camera assistant: Nadja Anane

Assistant to Catherine Robbe-Grillet: Beverley Charpentier


Post-production: Firm

Colour grading: Nicolas Gautier with the participation of Estelle Hanania

Flame artist: Erwan Bouché

End titles: Stephen O’Malley & Pierre de Domingo


Artistic dossier: Pierre de Domingo

Accounting: Pierre Garry

Suppliers: Panalux, Buffaloc, The BOX, Day’n’Light

Support: Anne-Lise Gobin & Alix Sarrade


Music written by Noel Engel

Produced by Scott Walker

Co-produced & Recorded by Peter Walsh

SUNN O))): Stephen O’Malley, Greg Anderson, TOS Nieuwenhuizen 

Mixed by Peter Walsh & Scott Walker

Musical Director: Mark Warman

Electronic Sounds Treatment & Manipulation: Mark Warman & Peter Walsh


Voice: Scott Walker

Guitars: Greg Anderson

Guitars, Bass Guitar: Stephen O’Malley

Moog, Lead Guitar: TOS Nieuwenhuizen

Drums: Ian Thomas

Keyboards: Mark Warman

Trumpet: Guy Barker

Whip: Peter Gamble

Drum Programming: Peter Walsh & Mark Warman

Keyboards FX: Peter Walsh


Soused /  4AD CAD 3428 / Noel Scott Engel © 2014

Music published by Tilt Productions Ltd (PRS/MCPS)

Scott Walker Management: Negus-Fancey Company


Acknowledgements: Didier Bouchet, Ludovic Jagielski, Manu Majastre, Raphael Rubbens,

Estelle Rullier, Jean-Paul Vienne, Dorothea Vienne-Pollak, Geoffroy Vigne, and Erès

as well as Karen Barel, Jean-Jacques Cabuy, Dennis Cooper, Etienne Hunsinger,

PLATO (Séverine Péan, Carine Hilly and Julie Le Gall), Peter Rehberg, and Catherine Rossi-Batôt


© Same Art / 4AD / DACM – 2014


Photos © Gisèle Vienne / Same Art

bottom of page